Electronic ignition timing. - Lm

Can some of you sages direct me to an online ‘ignition timing for dummies’ on the net? After a two year ground up build on the lemans I went to fire it up last night but it would only run on left cylinder. Spark is good on right. Its getting fuel as far as I can see. Compression is good. Do I have the timing out and how do I set it? Please excuse my ignorance! I’m still learning Motivlack2013-06-08 13:53:55

You say “Electronic ignition timing”. Does it therefore have an electronic ignition fitted rather than points?If so which system does it have?I would say if it runs on one, then it is unlikely to be timing, they will run even with the timing quite a long way out.

I found I had a coil that would not supply a spark to the right side cylinder once the engine had been running for a few minutes. Timing is normally set up using the right side cylinder first so chances are it is not the timing that is wrong.
All the best,

You need to tell us more, what electronic system do you have?But first of all, try swapping the coils side for side and see if the problem remains on the left. Also try swapping the plugs round, or try a new one on the left.HT cables can also be a source of problems, as can plug caps. Again swap side for side.

Thanks for replying guys.Its a lucas unit. Could it be the valve clearance? I’ll check them Monday.And try swopping leads/coils etc. My ‘mechanic’ has moved to Holland for work and I’m missing him

Again valve clearances are unlikely to prevent it running. More likely a dodgy plug or coil. Try swapping things over one at a time, plugs, then caps and leads, coils etc till the problem swaps over to the other side.

[QUOTE=Don-Spada] Again valve clearances are unlikely to prevent it running. More likely a dodgy plug or coil. Try swapping things over one at a time, plugs, then caps and leads, coils etc till the problem swaps over to the other side.Â

[/QUOTE]

Will do Don