T3 Gear Box

What are the experts’ views about adding moly slip to a T3 gearbox? The day is rapidly approaching when I may be actually riding my 1200 mile from new 1975 example. I have been told that it improves shifting and longevity. Many thanks in advance.

i am no expert but i do use moly in my cali3 (1988) gear box and bevel drive. it certanly made the gear changes a bit quiter"

Good stuff. I’ll try it. The reason I mentioned the 1200 miles was because I am expecting the box to be pretty tight.

Righto…moly slip HAS to go in the diff. You can use moly in the gearbox BUT there are better options

Supaslip …is a liquid ptfe and is brilliant

Moreys gear additive is also very very good

There are many people who will go on about all sorts of oil to "improve the gearbox BUT as with engine oil stick to the Guzzi reccomended type, obviously Agip is not widley available BUT get the equivalent engine/gearbox oil.

I have used moly in the gearbox by the way. as the bottle works the right amount to add to the bevel than the gearbox. BUT it is not strictly needed in the gearbox.

Hi BSB, definitely worth putting about 50cc molebdinum disulphide in gearbox and 10cc in bevel box, the additive is great at reducing scuffing on highly loaded gear teeth, especially in a Guzzi since the gears are of tractor like dimensions. Worth checking what percentage of MoS2 your additive contains as the neat stuff is hard to find.Cheers, Gerry.

This kind of thing? http://www.amazon.co.uk/Molyslip-Protection-concentrate-protects-steering/dp/B004UGJMQS/ref=reg_hu-rd_add_1_dp

[QUOTE=Mike H]