1000SP electrics

I have had a 1979 1000SP for many years and have gradually sorted problems as they arise. At last it seems to start OK but is now only running on one cylinder which stays relatively cool while the other gets hot. Fuel gets through OK. The plug is wet when I take it out. I have put in new coils and HT leads, new plugs and a new battery. I have swapped leads and coils round in all combinations but only one cylinder (could be either) has sufficient spark to burn fuel. When I test the plug outside the cylinder there’s a feeble, intermittent spark.
Could it be that the Mistral RITA electronic ignition has finally given up the ghost?
I’m no mechanic and even less of an auto-electrician so I may have missed something obvious.
Any ideas gratefully received.
TimB

If one side works OK, then no it hasn’t. If it really had given up the ghost you’ll get sweet naff all. Are the coils wired in series or parallel? If series, should be about 1.5 Ohms each. If parallel, should be 3 Ohms each plus there should be two diodes to feed them. By the way be very careful testing a plug in the open with a Rita, it MUST NOT be operated without a full complement of plugs connected and working. PS (edit): have you tried new plug caps, or swapping them over.
Mike H2014-09-05 16:44:31

Faulty plug? Failing under compression.
TIP: I have two crocodile clips joined by a hefty piece of wire which I attach to the plug and a good earth (as opposed to a bad one ) to avoid damaging ignition components.
This is well worth a look
Guzzi electrics
Best of luck
Steveguzzibrat2014-09-05 19:50:56

Have you checked your timing, one could be way off the mark.Where abouts are you? This sort of thing is impossible to diagnose by 20 questions.

It's a Rita.  One side works so we have to assume it isn't that. Also I take it both sides worked before this. (?)
Yes could be, good mention. Swapping plugs will prove or disprove that.