2016 V9 Roamer

When twisting the throttle slowly from idling, the revs do not increase but then increase rapidly. So, negotiating a roundabout, for example, I have to slip the clutch. All my previous bikes did not have this problem. Can you help please.

does it change speed if you leave it ticking over on the stand, like a fuel surge every now and again, or only when you twist throttle?

Only when I twist the throttle. It’s done it from new. Dealer tried to cure it but still persists. Slow riding is impossible. Thanks for reply.

I think slipping the clutch is a normal requirement for slow riding manoeuvres - keep the throttle hand still so engine can work at low revs and slip the clutch, bit of rear brake to reduce speed if necessary. At least it’s what we taught trainees on the motorcycle training scheme for the traffic cone exercises when I was an instructor (and what I was first taught doing same course). Trying to do it with just the twistgrip is what the Americans call ‘chopping the throttle’ and it doesn’t work. The preferred (other) method is a vital technique for negotiating mini roundabouts, sharp right-angled junctions, turning left or right at traffic lights etc. Just IMO. :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanks for your reply. As the V9 does not have a tacho, I cannot know the idling speed. However, twisting the throttle when idling does not cause the revs to SLOWLY increase. Instead, I get to a certain throttle position and the revs zoom up.

Has the TPS been checked for smooth operation?

Hi and thanks for message. Excuse my ignorance but what is the TPS

Throttle Position Sensor. If it’s worn or defective, can cause the symptom you describe.

1 Like

Whilst the bike was bought new in 2016, I have only travelled 1300 miles . I did 2 miles last year.
Your suggestion regarding the TPS seems promising. I will investigate. Thank you for your help thus far. Neil.

1 Like