Carbs gunged?

Before I started playing with my convert it was running fine. Now upon starting it is running very lumpily and I have black smoke from the exhaust, which seems to signify that it is running rich.I thought it was the fact that I had neglected to screw the carb tops down at first , but it is still not right. The choke seems to be functioning correctly, what else can I look at before I start to twiddle?The bike has stood for a few months, would that have gunged up the carbs and would that make it run rich?

More likely the choke bud check they are returning and also check the tiny neoprene ring at the top has sealed…Also that the carb slide has seated properly they can stick …

Check you have the floats assembled properly and that they are shutting off the fuel supply. Over rich mixture can be caused by a sticking float.

Anything limiting air flow? Have found ‘lost’ cloths and latex gloves on air filters in the pastThe chokes can sometimes stick in the last part of the venturi. They appear to be closing but have just enough gap to let excess fuel through. I’ve used a 4" piece of soft wire with a 1/4" right angle at the end to check this. Carb top off, lift the choke plunger, pop in the wire and drop the plunger gently. If it ‘bites’ the plunger is pretty much home.On the other hand…Best of luckSteve

Thanks folks, run out of time for a day or three, the missus is back from Norfolk this evening .Bike out of conservatory, back into shed, frantic cleaning, tidying, and polishing to try and sort the place out before the inevitable happens. House work tends to come second to fettling the bike! I’m doomed - Doomed!

LOOK you just look her in the eyes and say “Love it’s THE BIKE!” … oh yeah have a cuppa Tea ready and some flowers, always helps… Mind I do not have a problem I am very lucky I have an Annie …