Filtering through traffic on a 1200 sport

Hi,

I have a 1200 sport, which I have to say I quite like.

The only trouble I have with it, is that it is a pain to filter through stationary traffic.
The bars are wide - the mirrors even wider, and all around car wing mirror height.
For the first time ever I can’t always get to the front of the queue.

I think I might start working locally soon, which means commuting on the bike through very stop start traffic.
So I think I need a solution.

Narrower bars (maybe clip-ons with risers? ) would help.
Don’t really want to ditch the mirrors completely, but don’t mind having to move a bit to see properly behind

I was just wondering if anyone has come up with a good solution.

cheers

Not come up with a solution as such but I did experience the same feeling when I started riding my Stelvio in to London. My previous adventure style bikes all had narrower bars and the Stelvio also has the bar weights/handguards beyond so it really does feel wide. I’m pretty sure its wider than the Sport.

I eventually have become more used to it and enjoy the filtering, including this morning. I do occasionally have to pop back into the queue to let another biker pass through if the gaps are tight but I seem to catch up with them eventually. The Stevio bars should pass over most car mirrors easily but they are right in line with the MPVs and Transit vans!

Only once did I clunk a mirror but no damage to either vehicle. I imagine the language in the van went blue for a few seconds, though :blush:

The clutch on the 1200 Sport will be similar to the Stelvio and for me, this is a bigger filtering issue than the bars. After a mile or so of Blackwall Tunnel traffic, covering/using the clutch, I know my hand has had a good workout!

Jon

The panniers are even wider than the bars on my Stelvio! :unamused:

http://road.renthal.com/shop/road-products/road-handlebars/road-fatbars
This diagram below is useful too.