Fitting a new Givi topbox onto my V7 Special.

This is my first time using this forum and wanted to run a problem I have by it. I have a new V7 Special and tried fitting My Givi monokey Top Box to my universal monokey Givi base plate today but the box will not latch onto the baseplate. I was wondering if anyone had ever had a similar experience.

May be obvious suggestions already tried.

Does the top box latch in at the front on the two lug/catches and the “pointy pyramid” lines up at the back/rear?

is the “pointy pyramid” the right way round?

I have a V7 850 Special but I can’t visualise the problem. Can you post a photo? What are you using as the rack?

Thanks for getting back Brian & Mike. in frustration this morning I took the baseplate of bike rack and took it back to Sportsbike in Leeds. They agreed it was VERY difficult to latch on and took it back, should get a new one in the post in the next couple of days. You would think that a Give top case and a Givi base plate would be a good fit, but not in this case.

1 Like

Ah so it’s a fault with the box and the base.

My question still stands, because I’m curious, what is the rear rack?

It is a Guzzi rack fitted by the Guzzi dealer in Thirsk. I actually sent an email to Givi today detailing the problem and to my surprise got a reply from Italy in half an hour, got to take a bit a video now and send it to them.

1 Like

On reflection I should have got a Givi rack fitted, looked at the Guzzi top boxes and thought they were a bit expensive.

1 Like

That’s what I was wondering, I noticed Givi make a rack.

So do Kappa , they’re same company but cheaper than Givi ! same part numbers except kappa’s starts with a K instead of a G !

Replacement base plate arrived, same as other one, cannot fit my Givi box onto it. Back to leeds Wednesday. Thanks Derek, I will take a look at Kappa.