Heated grips - are they possible on a V7 850?

Hi. This is my first post so I hope it’s in the correct place. I have a 2022 V7 Special 850. I’m used to riding with heated grips but I’m not sure they are possible on the V7 as I read on an American Guzzi forum that the alternator can’t cope with heated grips and a halogen headlight. They suggested that an LED headlight be fitted but I’m not keen to go down that route. Does anyone have experience of heated grips on a V7 850? Thanks
Regards
Tony

I cannot see why not, they do not draw a vast current
however, if your machine has Canbus electronics, then you need the correct connectors, and chip
I have them on my ancient Breva, only time I have a problem is when sitting in traffic they will cut off to protect the battery
I dont use Oxford Hotgrips, as a Sparks by trade I have had far too many problems with their controllers, and you cannot adjust them when riding
I use a make called RS with a 5 LED display and one button

Hi Rapheal. Thanks for your reply. I think that the V7 850 does have a canbus system so that might cause problems. I guess that the other option I’ve got is to run the grips via a relay that switches the grips directly to the battery and have a separate on/off switch that connects to a switched feed to operate the relay.
Regards
Tony

The information I have says it’s got a 430 Watts alternator so not sure what they’re on about, should be plenty. 430W is 30 Amps at 14V.

Tho you might have an issue if it spends a lot of time idling, and not moving.

1 Like

not a good idea, as the Canbus system is rather clever ( I am old school sparks) and it will detect a current drop across the charging circuit and try to identify a fault
you really need to find out if the factory provided an option, or a relay unit with a node built in to indicate when in use, and prevent control signals going awry