Moto Guzzi T3 1000 gearing and vibration

I have a 1980 mk2 Le Mans which shows rpm 4000 at indicated 80mph. This engine is pretty smooth.
Just purchased a 1977 t3 which is fitted with a 1000cc engine, I am told it’s a 1000cc Convert engine. The gearbox is a the standard 850t3 box.

(1) At an indicated 80mph it shows rpm 4500. Why would it seem to geared lower that the 850 Le Mans.
(2) The vibration on this engine is much more than the 850 and seems to start just over 60mph. I have no experience of a standard 850 t3 to compare.
(3) Is the crankshaft the same in both 850 and 1000 engines. If so, perhaps fitting the 850 cylinders and pistons would reduce the vibration?

Would appreciate any help / advice as I don’t think I would want to tour on this 1000 t3 if it vibrates the way it does from 70mph upwards. The 850 Le Mans mk 2 is smoother and far more relaxing to travel on though for me it needs higher bars.

Finally why do people respray petrol tanks and side panel but don’t lacquer them. I spilled a little petrol on the tank pf my 1000 t3 and …well it’s not good. I had this issue with an Yamaha RD350lc and also a 1972 Benelli tornado 650……Why do people do this….:frowning:

Possibly the speedo is under-reading? Just something to check

Vibration - carbs balanced properly? I did have to replace one on a Spada that I could never balance properly and always vibrated, because of a machining fault in one of the carbs. New carbs magically cured it. Until then I had bar end weights on because the vibration buzz through the 'bars was so bad. :frowning:

There are various gearing combinations so you may have a non-standard setup in one or other bike. I think my 1000SP shows 5000rpm at 80mph and is dead smooth. Both needles pointing up is where a Tonti bike is best!
Agree with Mike that carb balance makes a big difference but I would also suggest a thorough check of all the basics - valve clearances, timing etc.
Ian

Thank for the advice.