Noisy tappets

Hi, I have an '80 T3850. Despite measuring and checking the clearances of the tappets, the left exhaust still sounds loose. Just wondering if the cam follower might be the problem. I’m pretty new to the bike so I don’t know what a typical amount of noise is but the left exhaust is definitely louder than the right. Anyone come across this problem?

Cheers. Paul.

They are generally noisy engines from the tappets. Make sure you have it set up right. Try rotating the engine (put it in second gear with the plugs out and push it along) whilst rattling the rocker arm up and down to make sure you have set it up on the correct TDC. If wrong, you will find a clearance of around an eighth of an inch at one point on the rotation.

Thanks for the reply. Method I use, find TDC with both pushrods spinnable, so both valves closed and set from there. Set to correct clearances both sides. Problem started after I’d retourqued the heads and adjusted tappets to suit. Am about to check again to see if that one’s come loose but the bike is going really well. It’s making enough noise to attract attention from people I pass!

Cheers. Paul.

Think I’ve sussed it now. I’m more used to 360 vertical twins, so failed to realise that the 2 marks painted on the alternator surround weren’t TDC and full advance marks and had set them both to only one of them, one therefore 45 deg out. I then set them to he other mark, tried it and, guess what? the problem went to the right cylinder. Just waiting or the engine to cool again and I’ll reset them then. Hopefully that will then be right and I won’t have done any damage. Doubt it though, looks really strong in there!

Cheers for your help. Paul.

I’m new to all this Guzzi stuff, but the following worked for me and my 1979 Le Mans MK II