T3 clutch - snatch and grab

Hi folks
 I have a T3 California that has a clutch problem. When I release the clutch lever, after the first half inch or so the clutch grabs (or snatches, depending on your preference) and there is less than an eighth of an inch to play with before the bike lurches forward. Technique is not the issue as I’ve been riding for 30+ years without the problem. I have tried adjusting at the lever, adjuster by the pivot arm and the pivot arm itself, with no luck…
Any suggestions welcome - thanks, SteveÂ

Perhaps the friction plates are worn out?
All the best,
David.Â

CB does probably have it.
How many miles on the bike and how long have you owned it, ie is this just started happening thing.

Thanks both…
I have had the bike for about a year and it had the clutch snatch when I picked it up - claimed low mileage of 15k and lots of MOTs to suggest this might be genuine. The bike was rough handled by the last owner and converted to something of a rat bike and I’ve been getting it back to ‘normal’ over the past few months. I know that it was off the road for 10 years or so, until last year…Â

Thanks David - will research more - see also response to Ian above

Don’t think you will cure it without having a look inside i’m afraid :frowning:

I have to agree with chilly.
If it is not something you have done before try and get a friend who has done it before to help.
Once done you will find it easy but longwinded in the future.

Had it been standing for a while before you bought it?
The internal and external components can begin to seize.
As a ‘less is more’ idle so and so I’d start with the easy stuff.
Apologies in advance if this is stating the obvious.
1: Remove cable from bike and give it some lubrication. if it’s Teflon lined (Venhill etc) don’t use oil.
2: Remove the lever from the carrier and give it a good clean/lube. Check the holes and bolts for wear and overtightening.