What The?

Hi all, I’m a new member living in the Stansted Airport area. I’m new to Guzzis but old (very) when it comes to Velocettes. Anyway, I recently became the proud(-ish) owner of what In think may be a V7 700. When i bought, I was informed that it was a 1973 model originally used somewhere in Europe and brought into the UK in 1995. However, the VIN number is VS69EV, would this mean it could be a 1969 model? Its in full working order, except the odometer. It rides very well and seems to perform nicely to someone who has no idea what to expect from one of these. It has what I understand is called a “loop” frame. Anybody who knows what this well patinated machine actually is is cordially invited to let me know :confused:

When the Covid situation is under some control it would be good to attend a few meetings or gatherings and make contact with fellow members. I would also like to hear from any members who have had experience or even owns one of these (see photos below, possibly) and would care to offer any advice or let me know what a pile of old poo/marvellous rare and historical vehicle (delete as appropriate) I have lurking in the garage.

Best wishes.

TeeBee
P1001323.JPG

Wow - nice bike. I’m pretty sure I saw that listed out there somewhere, looks kind of familiar.

I think I’m the only other Essex Branch Loop frame owner. Mine is a '72 Eldorado which is an 850 5 speed model. Actually marked up as a '73 on my V5 document. I’ve owned it around 4 years now. I think you should have a VIN plate on the head stock that will have a date on it, mine has.

I’m actually very nearly on the same road as Stansted, I’m in Braintree - on the road just off the roundabout at Cholesterol Corner.

I’d guess that if you are used to Velocettes and other of that awful old British stuff then the V7 will offer very few challenges to you mechanically. They are a good solid, well engineered and reliable piece of kit (though normal rules apply as with any old timer).