Something Horny!

Like many I don’t much like the standard V 85 TT horn and sought to replace it with a pair of Fiamm alikes. Easy enough to fit on the crash bars and power taken from the standard horn wires. Fine, all works - to start with. Then it goes intermittent and stops altogether. Ok, thinks I, perhaps I should have used a relay and the load had been too much for the switch. So a relay was fitted and still the horn was not good. Thinking that the switch was at fault I asked the dealer to check and they agreed that this was the case and would fit a new one. Come the day and the new switch does not work either. So the next step on returning home was to restore all to standard, and lo, normal service was restored.
Why did this happen? I’m not an auto electrician but can manage simple things and have fitted similar systems to several Can Bus BMWs successfully.
Ah, Can Bus, that beast from the depths of the warlock’s black arts.
As I understand it all the individual subsystems have a range of values to work from and the thinking is that if the system goes outside of these parameters then it throws a wobble.
In this case, going straight through the switch probably asked too much and caused the issue. So why did it not work with the relay? It’s only an educated guess but I think that the current draw was now too small and therefore fell outside of the parameters again but on the low side this time. Yes it might work with a resistor but that is outside of my experience/comfort zone.
With BMWs if you go outside the zone and a fault occurs it’s normally a case of switch the ignition off and on again to reset. In fact some BMs will take the twin horns on the switch and some won’t, it appears to be luck of the draw. They also don’t use fuses, dealing with faults electronically.
For the time being, therefore, it’s staying standard until I find a better alternative.

2 Likes