V50 Monza

Hi,
I’m new to this and am a first time Guzzi owner having come over from Morini,s.
I have a 1981 V50 Monza, seems a decent bike but am really struggling with the carbs. The bike wouldn’t tick over so I very stupidly fiddled about with the two screws, all to no avail then noticed a kink in one of the fuel lines, so replaced that. Now the bike at first has a tickover but a bit slow then after a while just races away, also the bike really over revs when you try and change gear, not good at all, especially for any semblance of image I may have left.
I live in Northamptonshire and tried finding a mobile mechanic as I really don’t want to ride it like this.
I would really appreciate any help, I did with the idle screw put it right back then backed it up one and a half turns.

Thanks Charles

Hi Charles, I have moved your post into the tech section, where it was is the area that members advertise services for other members.

My thoughts would be start with basics.
Check the timing.
Check the tank and fuel lines for flow and the fuel is not old.
Make sure the carbs are not full of sediment and the jets are not blocked.
Check that the floats in the carbs work.
Set the mixture and throttle stop screws as standard and as each other.

I hope you get an answer soon.

Thanks Chris
The tank fuel and lines are now all ok, the carbs were meant to have been set when I got it.
I think resetting the screws is best, I know the idle ones default position is full in then one and a half turns out again, but is it the same for the other screw?
You may have a point about the timing as before it was back firing a little, but since I sorted the restriction on the fuel line that seems to have gone, so I assume it was that.
Thanks again

Charles

Hi Charles
Welcome to the forum.