V85 TT Sore wrist

Hi, I am new to Moto Guzzi, and have a V85 TT.

Due to work and weather (I’m a fair weather rider),
I have only ridden it a handful of times since buying in June this year.

After each ride, my throttle hand, and in particular the thumb, is sore, and this goes into the wrist.

Has anybody else experienced this, and if so, any ideas on how to stop it?

I use cruise control where possible, and today had the heated grips on to see if that helps (it hasn’t)

Many thanks.

I get that on my Mutistrada. But not as much on my Breva. I thinbk wide bars on Adventure bikes bring it on. Probably age and arthritis has something to do with it in my case :sweat_smile:

1 Like

I found the bars too low which meant I had pressure on the wrong area of my hand, like I was putting my weight on the palms mostly.

Tilting the bars up has alleviated this a bit. Bar risers will probably help more in my case.

There is a throttle modification to a lighter spring, a couple of people in the NI branch of the club have done this - Buckymoto on YouTube has a video of it. Not sure if this is what caused you to get sore thumb but might be worth looking into.

Thank you for the replies.

I will look at bars and possible risers, and the throttle mod.

Happy biking.

Have a look at Grip Puppies. For me, the extra diameter gives a more relaxed grip and the foam helps damp vibration.
Heated grips still work, just takes a little longer to feel the warmth.

1 Like

Thanks, I’ve got a few ideas now as to how to fix problem. Don’t want to have to sell the bike.